Moore wins Warren Challenge Bowling Tournament

Submitted photo. Ted Snyder (left), tournament director, presents the winner’s trophy and check to the 2022 champion, Howard Moore IV (R).

WARREN — Howard Moore IV earned his first Warren Challenge Bowling title by winning in the finals of the 43rd iteration of the tournament Sunday at Freeway Lanes.

On his way to the title, Moore IV had to get past two former multiple-time Warren Challenge champions.

After beginning game 4 in 8th place, Moore defeated 5-time champion Adam Barta 237 to 234 and with the 30 bonus pins awarded for the victory, moved into 5th place. In game 5, Moore almost rolled a perfect game leaving a nine pin on his final shot to shoot 299 and jump into the lead. He held the lead until game 6 when 3-time champion Robert Harvischak defeated him in a close match 220 to 216 to regain the lead by 26 pins. Harvischak remained in the lead through game 7 by 27 pins, setting up a position round showdown between himself and Moore to bowl for the title.

In the final match, Harvischak struggled to get lined up and Moore cruised to a 258 -177 victory to earn the title in his first career Warren Challenge appearance.

Harvischak finished with the tournament’s best W-L record at 6-2.

The standings for the finals are as follows: 1. Howard Moore IV – 2015 pins, 2. Robert Harvischak – 1931 pins, 3. Adam Barta – 1895 pins, 4. Scott Baillie – 1868 pins, 5. James Nolen – 1817 pins, 6. Dean Billings – 1799 pins, 7. Mark Lias – 1782 pins, 8. Chuck Zarbaugh – 1722 pins.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today