VIDEO: This year’s Twenty Under 20 video presentation

Twenty Under 20 honors 20 high-achieving individuals younger than 20 for their leadership skills through volunteerism, extracurricular activities and academic achievements. But now in its eighth year, the COVID-19 pandemic forced changes in how the winners are recognized.

A virtual program introducing the 20 winners and announcing this year’s overall winner will replace the banquet and awards ceremony normally held in December. The program can be viewed online.

CLICK HERE for Twenty Under 20 virtual presentation

Twenty Under 20 is co-sponsored by the Tribune Chronicle, Akron Children’s Hospital Mahoning Valley and Kent State University at Trumbull.

Howland High School’s Kate Li was named the overall winner. She received $500 to be donated to the charity of her choice.

The other four finalists are Chloe Harris, 17, a senior at Warren G. Harding; Emma O’Connell, 18, a senior at McDonald; Riana Rathburn, 17, a senior at Maplewood; and Jacob Snelson, 17, a senior at Howland. They will split $500 for the charities they choose.

The other honorees in the Class of 2020 are: Miranda Bugos, 17, a senior at Niles McKinley; Najah Elam, 17, a senior at Warren G. Harding; Lauren Fife, 18, a senior at Champion; Brooke Frazzini, 17, a senior at Mathews; Mallory Greenamyer, 17, a senior at Hubbard; Jeffrey Jiang, 17, a senior at Lakeview; Justin Jones, 19, a freshman at Case Western Reserve University; Gabrielle LoCastro, 17, a senior at Girard; Gianna Merlo, 17, a senior at Howland; Brooklyn Mullenax, 17, a senior at Bristol; Zachary Scher, 17, a senior at Champion; Sydney Tenney, 17, a senior at Harding; Carla Thigpen, 17, a senior at Niles McKinley; Destinee Toth, 17, a senior at Harding; and Matthew Vencel, 17, a senior at Harding.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today