Obiazor leads award winners

Youngstown State’s Nneka Obiazor was named women’s basketball Freshman of the Year in the Horizon League, one of several Penguins to earn honors for men’s and women’s basketball.

Obiazor, Eden Prairie, Minn., ranked fifth in the league in rebounding (8.3 per game) and eighth in scoring (15.2 ppg) in her first season for the Penguins. The rookie also ranked sixth in field-goal percentage (48.5 percent) and earned a spot on the All-League third team.

Other YSU student-athletes who earned Horizon League basketball honors: women – Mary Dunn, second team; Chelsea Olson, third team; men – Naz Bohannon, second team; Garrett Covington, All-Defensive team; Shemar Rathan-Mayes, All-Freshman team.

Other women’s awards went to Macee Williams of IUPUI as Player of the Year (for the third straight season), Mariah White of Cleveland State as Defensive Player of the Year, Destiny Leo of Cleveland State at Sixth Player of the Year and Wright State’s Katrina Merriweather as Coach of the Year. The women’s All-Horizon first team included Williams, White, Milwaukee’s Megan Walstad, Oakland’s Kahlaijah Dean and Wright State’s Angel Baker.

Men’s awards included Loudon Love of Wright State as Player of the Year (for the second year in a row), Marques Warrick of Northern Kentucky at Freshman of the Year, Tre Gomillion of Cleveland State as Defensive Player of the Year, Matt Johnson of Detroit Mercy as Sixth Man of the Year and Dennis Gates of Cleveland State at Coach of the Year.

The men’s All-Horizon first team included, besides Love, Cleveland State’s Torrey Patton, Detroit Mercy’s Antoine Davis, Jalen Moore of Oakland and Tanner Holden of Wright State.

Northern Kentucky senior and Garrettsville Garfield product Grayson Rose was named to the women’s All-Defensive team.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today