Indians’ games on TV in short season

All Cleveland Indians games of the COVID-19-shortened 2020 season will be on television.

SportsTime Ohio will air 57 of the 60 games, including the home opener Friday night at Progressive Field against the Kansas City Royals.

The Indians will play 10 games each against their four AL Central Division rivals, while the remaining 20 games will be split among the NL Central Division teams.

The Tribe will be on national television three times on the Fox network — all road games July 30 at Minnesota; Aug. 29 at St. Louis and Sept. 12 again in Minnesota.

WKYC-TV 3 in Cleveland will simulcast two Tribe games with SportsTime Ohio — the home opener on July 24 and the Aug. 21 date versus Detroit at Progressive FIeld.

Once again, the SportsTime Ohio announcers will be Matt Underwood and Rick Manning with Al Palowski and Jensen Lewis hosting the pre- and post-game shows with Andre Knott doing the dugout interviews.

All 60 Tribe games will be carried on the Indians radio broadcast network with flagship station WTAM 1100-AM. Youngstown’s WKBN 570-AM also is part of that Tribe radio network.

The Indians will play six times against the Pittsburgh Pirates, which will have its games carried on the AT&T Sports Network. The Pirates have not yet announced their television schedule.

Some of the new wrinkles of this new season is that the National League teams will be playing with the designated hitter for all games. Also, during extra innings, the play will start with a runner on second base to hopefully move things along.

When the Indians take the field, the starting lineup will contain an oddity that I can only remember happening one time before in my lifetime. The Indians starting infielders are all switch-hitters, Jose Ramirez at third; Francisco Lindor at shortstop; new acquisition Cesar Hernandez at second; and Carlos Santana at first base. In addition, new catcher Sandy Leon also hits from both sides of the plate as does reserve outfielder Gregg Allen.

The only other major league team to start four switch hitting infielders were the Los Angeles Dodgers of the mid 1960s — Junior Gilliam at third base; Maury Wills at shortstop; Jim Levebvre at second base and Wes Parker at first base.

The Dodgers won the 1963 and 1965 World Series and were swept by the Baltimore Orioles in the 1966 Fall Classic. Hopefully, the switchers can bring good fortune to the 2020 Tribe which is celebrating the 100th anniversary of its first World Championship.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today