World of Outlaws tour coming to Sharon Speedway

The World of Outlaws national tour — “The Greatest show on dirt” — will return to Sharon Speedway three big nights in one week. The biggest back-to-back weekend show in the speedway’s history. The Sprint cars will return Saturday May 21st. for a $10,000 to win. Last year in one of the seasons most popular wins went to hometown hero 58-year-old Dave Blaney.

He won on a last lap pass setting the racing world into a frenzy bringing his career total to 95. The traveling elite series seldom loses to a non-regular. The series races across the county starting in Florida across the plains to California and back east. Defending champion and current point leader Brad Sweet of Grass Valley Ca. will be on hand along with David Gravel of Watertown Ct. who sits second in points.

Lemoore Ca. driver Carson Macedo has the most wins this season with four. The Outlaws will be gunning for the $10,000 prize. Local and regional racers are sure to join the action. Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with opening ceremonies 7:30.

The following Friday and Saturday May 27-28 the World of Outlaw Late Modes invade the Hartford oval for a Memorial Day weekend spectacular, a $10,000 to win 40-lap race on Friday and $20,000 to win 60-lap race on Saturday. Last year’s winner was NASCAR Champion Kyle Larson.

Illinois native and veteran driver Dennis Erb Jr. leads the early season national points over local fan favorite Max Blair of Centerville Pa. Kentucky driver Tanner English is holding the third spot over Iowa’s Tyle Bruening. Regional drivers from surrounding states will challenge the Outlaws for the prize monies. Gates open at 5:00 p.m. with opening ceremonies at 7:30.

Michaels Mercer Raceway opened last Saturday amid rain surrounding the area. New LED lighting and a new red clay surface welcomed drivers and fans. Eric Gabany won the Big Block Modified feature in a real crowd pleaser over Ben Rapp as they swapped positions several times. In the 305 Sprint division Jeremy Konebau has finished second for seven years countless times this time he emerged the winner. In the FASTRAK Modifieds Brian Schaffer took the checker. Mini Stock victor was Andy Thomposon. This Saturday Mercer will sit idle in honor of Sharon’s Outlaw show.

That’s it, some of the nations best short racing is right here in our own backyard. Support your local race track, hear the thunder, feel the grandstands shake, smell the racing fuel.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today