Hubbard’s T.C. Caffey wins Trumbull County Football Player of the Year award

Correspondent photo / Michael G. Taylor Hubbard's Timothy Caffey (22) breaks out of the grasp of Girard's Conner Strain (21) Friday night in a 29-15 Eagles victory.

WARREN — On Monday evening Hubbard senior T.C. Caffey became the first Eagle since L.J. Scott (2014) to win the Trumbull County Player of the Year award, an honor bestowed to the best football player in Trumbull County each year.

The Trumbull County Coaches Association hosted the event Monday night after having to cancel last year’s banquet due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Each football coach from Trumbull County was awarded the opportunity to nominate one senior player and a committee of six made the final selection. Caffey was chosen after rushing for 2,630 yards and an Ohio High School Athletic Association single-season record 37 touchdowns.

“It means a lot,” Caffey said about winning the award. “It means that all the hard work that me and my teammates put in paid off. But it means a lot to me personally because all the work that I put in by myself, all the late nights that I put in and I’m getting the recognition for it.”

Caffey burst onto the scene this season in Week 1 rushing for 456 yards and five touchdowns in a 48-28 victory over Norwayne and then went on to surpass the 200-yard mark seven different times throughout the course of the season.

Once Caffey got going, he was hard to stop too. In each game that he scored in, he scored three or more touchdowns. He scored four touchdowns five different times this season, including a 272 yard, four touchdown performance during Hubbard 39-20 first round playoff victory over New Philadelphia.

“Everything I’ve said about my teammates is true really,” Caffey said, deferring his success to his offensive linemen. “We all put in the work together, we all grinded together everyday. We all knew that we were going to have the opportunity to do something special.”

Caffey added that his relationship with his teammates is a special one.

“It’s something that I’ll never forget,” he said.

Throughout the season, Caffey did the same. When he’d blow up for a big game, he’d push off the recognition to his teammates and linemen who helped him get there. He’s a humble player that can help place the foundation for building a program and Hubbard coach Brian Hoffman was happy to have him.

“That sets the tone for a program, having a kid like that,” Hoffman said. “I think there are different types of leaders and our team looks at him like a leader. He’s not the most outspoken guy but he leads by example and a lot of times in life the people that lead by example are really the ones that you want to follow.”

Along with L.J. Scott, Anthony Smith won the award in 2001.

The other players honored Monday night included: Brookfield’s David Pawlowski, Champion’s Keegan McDermott, Girard Nassim Lloyd, Howland’s Matt Woomer, LaBrae’s Aidan Stephens, Lakeview’s Nate Fox, Liberty’s La’Breilyn Wilson, Mathew’s Corey Lilley, McDonald’s Nate Gilligan, Mineral Ridge’s Mark Bunch, Newton Falls’ Hunter Jones, Niles McKinley’s Kolton Christopher, Warren G. Harding’s Kincade Tyson and Kennedy’s Eddie Kiernan.

Former LaBrae star Tariq Drake also won this year’s Golden Helmet Award.



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today