Two more depart YSU men’s team

Tyree Robinson and Devin Haygood, both juniors, are the latest to leave the Youngstown State men’s basketball program.

YSU, a team that went 8-23 this past year, is in the midst of a renovation.

Coach Jerrod Calhoun, as all of the institution coaches, are instructed by Director of Athletics Ron Strollo not to say anything when a student-athlete transfers to another school. All the coach can do is confirm the transfer. YSU men’s basketball media contact Jamie Hall confirmed Haygood and Robinson have been give their release. Both have one more year of eligibility.

Sophomores Braun Hartfield and Jeremiah Ferguson, along with freshman Jacob Brown, left the team a couple of days ago.

First-team, All-Ohio players Darius Quisenberry (Huber Heights Wayne) and Jelani Simmons (Columbus Beechcroft), along with highly-decorated Hackensack (N.J.) High School guard Atiba Taylor, have all signed.

Olamide Pedersen of Sunrise Christian Academy (Kansas) and Donel Cathcart (Niagara County Community College) have made verbal commitments. Both can officially sign on April 17, the start of the late signing period.

Francisco Santiago, the final holdover from the Jerry Slocum era, is waiting to see if the NCAA grants him a sixth year of eligibility due to a season-ending ACL injury. If he doesn’t, YSU has another open scholarship.

YSU is limited to 13 scholarship players and has freshman Garrett Covington, Naz Bohannon, Michael Akuchie, Noe Anabir and Devin Morgan (who sat out last year due to NCAA transfer rules) returning, along with the three signees. The two verbal commitments make 10. If Santiago returns, that’s 11. If not, YSU has three remaining scholarships.