SANDLOT: Class B title series

Wednesday – 16U championship

The Astro Falcons are the Youngstown Class B 16U Division champions for 2020 after beating Knightline, 10-0, Wednesday to complete a sweep of the best-of-5 championship series. AJ Havrilla of Astro was named Most Valuable Player in the playoffs. Anthony Miller tossed a one-hit shutout in the game Wednesday, striking out seven and walking only two. Stephen Tarnoci helped lead a balanched Astro assault with a two-run single and a run scored. Ben Slanker, Cole Constable, and Luca Ricchiutti all contributed a hit, a run and an RBI to the cause. Griffin Widrig slugged a double and scored a run in the victory. Teagan McCurdy recorded the lone hit of the game for Knightline.

TUESDAY: Astro Falcons 14, Knightline 0 – Havrilla had a double, triple, RBI and scored twice to lead Astro in their Game 2 victory. Tyler Staub had a triple, three RBIs and scored twice, and Aiden Miller had double, RBI and scored once for the Falcons. Tino Campoli pitcher four innings for the win, giving up no hits or runs while striking out six. Gavin Mauger had the only hit for Knightline.

Tuesday – 18U Championship

Creekside Fitness 3, Astro Falcons 2 (Creekside leads 2-0) – Creekside scored three runs in the bottom of the sixth inning to come back and upset the Astro Falcons in game two of the best-of-5 title series. BJ Arnold had two hits and scored once, while Thomas Koch had a hit and two RBIs for Creekside. JJ Wetherholt had two hits, including a double, and scored once, while Will Ray had two hits for the Astros. Game three was being played Wednesday night and was not complete by press tie.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)