Area athletes, coaches earn All-District honors

John F. Kennedy’s football team advanced to its second Division VII state championship game in the last five years.

This year, the Eagles were led by Division VII Northeast Inland District Defensive Player of the Year Cameron Hollobaugh, a 6-foot-1, 210-pound senior linebacker. He had 41 tackles, eight tackles for loss, two sacks and two interceptions in early November.

First-year JFK coach and former defensive coordinator Dominic Prologo was named Division VII Coach of the Year with Leetonia’s Paul Hulea.

This year’s Northeast Inland teams were voted on by The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association. All-Northeast District football teams honor the top players from parts of Stark, Summit, Portage, Medina, Wayne, Trumbull, Columbiana, Mahoning and Ashland counties. The teams are selected by a media panel from those areas.

Also in Division VII, McDonald’s Dominic Schadl was named offensive player of the year with Leetonia’s Marco Ferry. The 5-8, 175 McDonald senior quarterback had more than 2,100 combined yards (rushing and passing) and 23 touchdowns.

Ursuline senior Dante Walker (5-9, 204) had more than 100 tackles and was named Division IV Defensive Player of the Year.

Ursuline coach Dan Reardon and West Branch coach Ken Harris were two of the three Division IV Coaches of the Year. Ursuline was 2-8 last season. The Irish were 7-3 and advanced to the Division IV, Region 13 title game.

Garfield coach Mike Moser, whose team was 9-1 and had key wins over Mogadore, John F. Kennedy and Cardinal Mooney, had one of the best season’s in school history. Moser split the Division V Coach of the Year honor with South Range’s Dan Yeagley.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today