Lordstown to host invitational

The Lordstown Athletic Department is hosting the 20th annual Lordstown “Jean Ann Smith” Cross Country Invitational on Saturday at the Lordstown Village Park on state Route 45 in Lordstown.

There will be 17 local schools competing: Badger, Western Reserve, Bristol, Brookfield, Cardinal, Carpe Diem, Heartland Christian, Jackson-Milton, LaBrae, Lordstown, Mathews, Mineral Ridge, Newton Falls, Sebring, Southington, South Range and United Local.

The high school races begin at 10 a.m., followed by the junior high.

In the varsity girls race Moriah-Ruth Toth and Riley Cowles from Mineral Ridge will be competing for the top spot against Elizabeth Marhefka of United Local. Timmy Pappagalio from Mineral Ridge will be competing against Kaleb Nastari from United Local for the win in the varsity boys race.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)