Fitch wins sectional wrestling title; Liberty, J-M advance multiple wrestlers

Fitch wins Division I sectional title

CHAGRIN FALLS — Austintown Fitch was the champion of the Division I Kenston sectional after advancing 10 wrestlers to next weekend’s district tournament.

Fitch scored 223.5 points to beat Aurora (218). Kenston was third at 151. Andrew Fairbanks and Tyler Petrey each won individual titles for Fitch. Fairbanks won, 15-0, at 138 pounds, and Petrey won, 2-1, at 285 pounds for the Falcons. They also had three runners-up in Gus Sutton (120), Michael Ferree (160) and Brock Kimble (220). The four placers advanced to next week’s North Canton Hoover district tournament.

Other placers for Fitch were Hunter Helminiak (fourth, 106), Zach Richards (fourth, 113), Marco Parry (fourth, 126), Breylon Douglas (third, 182), and Ian Kotch (third, 195).

Boardman had four wrestlers move on. Leading the way was Carlo DeNiro, who took second at 182 pounds. Anthony Baglama was third at 113, Michael O’Horo finished third at 170 and Nick Caraballot was fourth at 220.

Blue Jays sending

five to district

ROOTSTOWN — Jackson-Milton had five wrestlers finish in the top four of the Division III Rootstown sectional.

The Blue Jays finished seventh as a team, and Liberty, which had three wrestlers in the top four, took fifth as a team. The top four wrestlers in each weight class advanced to next weekend’s Garfield Heights district tournament.

Moving on for Jackson-Milton were Jeremy Seka (third at 113 pounds), Ryan Staton (fourth, 126), Anthony Pizzuto (fourth, 132), Nick Vergalito (third, 152) and Nick Scarl (fourth, 170).

Liberty’s Morgan Weinreber was fourth at 138 pounds. Mouad Elouaddi placed third at 145 and Zion Matlock was third at 160.

Tuslaw won the sectional with 294.5 points, and Rootstown was second with 227.