17 file as independents for Nov. election

WARREN — Independent candidates filed to run for Warren City Council, Niles City Council, and in Hubbard City, Lordstown and McDonald.

The candidates are seeking to run in the November general election, but will first have to be certified in June or July by the Trumbull County Board of Elections before their names will appear on the ballot, Stephanie Penrose, director of the board of elections, said.

In Warren, Donald L. Allgood of Comstock Street NW filed to run for one of three council at-Large seats. Three Democrats who already sit on the city council are running for the at-Large seats, Gary Steinbeck of Tod Avenue NW, Helen Rucker of Beechcrest Street NW and Ken MacPherson of Central Parkway Avenue SE. Steinbeck and Rucker already hold at-large positions. MacPherson is now the 5th Ward councilman. No Republican filed for the seats.

Todd Johnson of Coit Drive NW filed to run for the Warren City Council 1st Ward seat. Two Democrats, incumbent Larry D. Larson of Niblock Avenue NW, and Amanda Powell-Herbert of Denison Avenue NW, are facing off today in the primary election. No Republicans filed.

Two independent candidates are throwing their hats into Warren’s 5th Ward race, Koree McLennan of Perkinswood Boulevard SE, and Kamau Thornton of Brier Street SE. Republican Robert A. Marchese of Country Club Drive SE also is seeking the seat, and has no opponent in today’s primary race. Incumbent Democrat Ken MacPherson is seeking the at-large position, but two Democrats seek the seat in the primary, Ashley Miner of Burton Street SE and Pierson Butcher of Hazelwood Avenue SE.

In Niles, two independent candidates are seeking council at-Large seats, James V. DePasquale Jr. of Vienna Avenue and Geo Kuriatnyk of North Road. Four Democrats are going up against each other in today’s primary, including at-Large incumbents Michael A. Lastic of Park Place and the newly appointed Jimmy Julian of Emma Street. Albert J. Cantola Jr. of Vienna Avenue is now the 4th Ward councilman, but is seeking an at-Large seat. Richard Hale of Robbins Avenue also is seeking one of the positions. No Republicans have filed for the seats.

Other independent candidates who filed are:

∫ Brandon J. Pierson, Oak Knoll Drive, Hubbard City, 1st Ward council;

∫ Robert Bond, Highland Avenue SW, Lordstown council;

∫ Terry Campbell, Pond Lane SW, Lordstown council;

∫ Mark R. McGrail, Goldner Lane SW, Lordstown council;

∫ Don Reider, Ellsworth Bailey Road, Lordstown council;

∫ Howard W. Sheely III, Ernest Lyntz Road SW, Lordstown council;

∫ Kevin Campbell, Ellsworth Bailey Road, Lordstown board of trustees of public affairs;

∫ Brian D. Fisher, Grant Street, McDonald council;

∫ Odell J. Houston, Logan Avenue, McDonald council;

∫ Kerry Magill Reckard, Parkside Place, McDonald council;

∫ John Metzinger, Ohio Avenue, McDonald council.



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today