Elections board rejects 18, including school board member and sitting mayor

WARREN — The mayor of West Farmington and a sitting member of the Warren City Schools Board of Education cannot run for re-election in November because of mistakes made on their nominating petitions.

Mayor Shirley L. McIntosh and school board member Andre Coleman were among 18 potential candidates — including four more who filed for Warren school board — barred Monday from running by the Trumbull County Board of Elections for various reasons, but all fatal flaws on their paperwork.

Also seeking re-election, but not allowed on the ballot were Rex Rager, Mathews Local School District Board of Education; Scott Lehman, Howland Local School District Board of Education; and James W. Edwards, city councilman in Cortland.

McIntosh’s petitions were rejected because she filed an incomplete circulator’s statement and Coleman did not sign two pages of his statement of candidacy.

Rager was rejected because he filed incomplete circulator statements; Lehman because he put an incorrect number in the statement, causing the board to invalidate signatures that put him below the 25 required; and Edwards did not fill in the county or election date on his petitions, according to the elections board.

Four others who filed by Wednesday’s nonpartisan deadline to run for Warren school board — Jackie Shannon, Jenna Daugherty, Victoria S. Rush and Paul Amos — were rejected too, leaving sitting member Patricia M. Limperos and candidate Julian Walker all but assured of election. Three seats are up for election.

All four of the rejected candidates did not turn in enough valid signatures. They needed 75. Shannon had 53; Daugherty, 69; Rush, 73; and Amos, 63. Shannon’s petition also contained a blank circulator’s statement on five pages.

Others who had their candidacies rejected were:

• Michael J. Haddle for Mathews school board filed an incomplete circulator statement. His, and the departure of Rager, leaves incumbent Michele E. Garman alone on the ballot for two seats.

• Patrick Glunt for Weathersfield fiscal officer filed an incomplete circulator statement. Incumbent Fred Bobovnyk is now unopposed.

• James J. DeChristefero for Niles school board filed an incomplete circulator statement. Nine candidates remain in the race for three seats.

• Jack Finch Sr. and Nick Solak for Howland trustee for invalid signatures. Finch’s petitions showed all of the signatures were dated prior to his statement of candidacy and Solak had only 13 valid signatures. They needed 25.

Left in the race for one seat are incumbent Rick G. Clark and Michael Bollas.

• Christina Miller for Greene fiscal officer fell two valid signatures short of the 25 required. Incumbent Yevonne Postlethwait is now unopposed.

• Rachel A. Hill for Liberty fiscal officer had 13 valid signatures. She needed 25. The race is now down to incumbent Steve T. Shelton and Michael Ceci.

• Robert Woolf for Farmington trustee fell three valid signatures short of the 25 he needed, leaving John B. Dale unopposed for one seat.

• Sara Grimes for Champion Local School District board of education had 18 valid signatures. She needed 25. Patricia Fisher and John T. Pitts are unopposed for two available seats.



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)