On the record – Warren

WHAT: Board of Education meeting Tuesday

PRESENT: Regina Patterson, Robert Faulkner Sr., Andre Coleman, John Lacy and Patricia M. Limperos (attended, but left before voting)

The board:

• Approved entering into agreements with the College Credit-Plus Dual Enrollment Program with Youngstown State University to increase the educational options and opportunities for secondary and postsecondary levels;

• Approved entering into agreements with CDW Government LLC to provide hardware, configuration and installation of wireless cabling, controllers, access points and switches, enabling wireless access to the network for devices within the district;

• Approved entering into agreements with the city of Warren to provide six school resource officers in the Warren City Schools for the 2019-20 school year;

• Approved entering into agreements with the Mahoning Valley Regional Council of Governments to utilize the council’s services and abilities required by the district;

• Approved recognizing Karen Zagorec as a credentialed evaluator after she passed and met state board of education standards;

• Approved amending the employment contract for Karen Sciortino as treasurer to include the same compensation for Medicare costs as for the assistant treasurer at 1.45 percent;

• Approved appointing Todd Smith as middle childhood education teacher for 2019-20 school year;

• Approved the retirement of Angela Smith, music teacher, effective May 31;

• Approved the resignation of building substitute teachers Kellsie Foster and Lisa Paugh, effective March 1 and March 13, respectively;

• Approved military leave for Zachary Cowher, secondary education teacher, without loss of pay or benefits for 31 days effective Feb. 22. Should his leave exceed 31 days, he will continue to receive the difference between his school district pay and military pay;

• Approved appointing Khristine Krcelic, Mary Jo Pardee, Thomas Riedel, Lindsay Klein, Kathleen Berlin-Bates, Elyse Rohrer, Monique Soltis, Tracey Lewis, Stacey Milleson and Keelyn Franklin under supplemental contracts;

• Approved the resignation of Rebecca Reed, school community liaison for Willard PK-8, effective March 15;

• Approved the resignation of Gloria Yokey, substitute noon hour aide / crossing guard effective March 1;

• Approved Amanda Adams, JoAnn Antonelli, Quwan Baker, Marsha Burch, Paula Johnson, Keith Miller, Valerie Mound, Maryann Rought, Heike Savage, RashondaWalker, Ginny Weaver and Elizabeth Zaben be added to the approved list of substitute personnel;

• Approved changing the board of education meeting from May 7 to May 14 and the June meeting from June 18 to June 11.

— Beth Shiller