Diocese announces clergy appointments

Bishop David Bonnar of the Diocese of Youngstown has made the following clergy appointments:

• Rev. Leo Wehrlin, pastor of Holy Trinity, East Liverpool, effective June 1;

• Rev. Scott Kopp, director of seminarians and pastor of St. Thomas the Apostle Parish, Vienna, effective June 1;

• Rev. John Michael Lavelle, vicar for missionary discipleship, and pastor of St. Michael Parish, Canfield, effective July 1;

• Rev. David Misbrener, diocesan curator of patrimony, effective July 1. He will remain pastor of St. Jude Parish, Columbiana, and Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, East Palestine.

• Rev. John Jerek, pastor of St. Christine Parish, effective July 1. He will remain pastor of Our Lady of Sorrows Parish, Youngstown. Bonnar has appointed him diocesan director of the permanent diaconate formation, effective July 1.

• Rev. Michael Balash, vicar for clergy, effective July 1.. He will remain pastor of St. William Parish, Champion and director of the Office of Worship.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today