CLINE NAMED SCHOLAR: Ashley Cline, daughter of Marie and Richard Cline of Niles, recently was named to the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

A 2015 graduate of Niles McKinley High School, Cline is a student at Youngstown State University. She hs recently been on the Dean’s List and received the President’s Award at YSU.

YSU HONORS AND SCHOLARS: The following local Youngstown State University students received a variety of scholarships and honors at the annual Student Awards Banquet on campus:

Hannah Pavalko of Youngstown, DeCrane-Houser Scholarship in memory of Father DeCrane and Judge Houser;

Alana Lesnansky of Youngstown, Kocinski Award in honor of Marilyn Kocinski in recognizing leadership, artistry and creativity in dance;

Gabriella Gessler of Youngstown, AVI Leadership Scholarship for Outstanding Undergraduate Campus Leaders;

Chynna Thompson of Hubbard, AVI Leadership Scholarship for Outstanding Undergraduate Campus Leaders;

Rachel Davis of Youngstown, Hirsch-Satrum Leadership Scholarship for Outstanding Undergraduate Campus Leaders;

Tara Amero of Youngstown, Bernadine Marinelli Memorial Scholarship presented to an outstanding student supervisor in the YSU Bookstore, Kilcawley Center or housing in memory of an exceptional educator and student advocate;

Christina Yovick of Youngstown, Edna K. McDonald Cultural Awareness Award in recognition of contributions made to cultural diversity;

Jayne Catlos of Youngstown, Student Government Association Spirit Award for outstanding enthusiasm for the work of the association.

Sponsored by YSU Student Government Association, Student Affairs and Student Activities, the banquet celebrated outstanding students, organizations and support staff that have contributed in an exceptional way toward the success of the 2015-16 academic year.