Aldridge, Oliver get top honors

The Associated Press released the Division III and Division IV All-Ohio high school boys basketball teams on Tuesday. LaBrae Vikings’ Peyton Aldridge made the Division III first team while Bristol Panthers’ Chad Oliver made the Division IV first team.

“It’s a great honor to get this award,” Aldridge said. “It’s another step to keep working. Got to continue to work as we come to play Thursday and hopefully Saturday.”

Aldridge averaged 20 points, 12 rebounds and four assists per game during the 2012-2013 season. He has guided the Vikings to their first state appearance in basketball.

“He is well deserving,” Vikings coach Chad Kiser said. “He puts in the time in the offseason. He comes in every day before school for an hour (practice). He’s probably the most versatile athlete in the state, he can do so much. All of his hard work has paid off.”

Oliver led Bristol to a 22-0 regular season – its first in school history.

“It’s a big honor,” Oliver said. ” I couldn’t have done it without my teammates and coaches and all the support the Bristol community has given me.”

Bristol coach Craig Giesy had high praise for his senior standout.

“He was the biggest part for us from April all the way to the end of the season,” Giesy said. ” In summer workouts, he busted his butt. Players knew he was the best player on the floor and they had to match his intensity the entire off season, which made us better going into the season and during the season.”

Other local basketball players from Division III and Division IV made the All-Ohio team or were honorable or special mentions.

For Division III, Brookfield’s Jeremy Quinlan made the second team and Ursuline’s Ryan Strollo made third team. Tim Cross of Pymatuning Valley was a special mention. Quintin Ratliffe of Pymatuning Valley and Girard’s Craig Randall were honorable mentions.

For Division IV, Windham’s Matt Knight made the second team and Daylen Williams of Youngstown Christian made the third team. Matt Seitz of McDonald recieved a special mention. Cameron Pozsgai of Windham, Brandon Lee of Bristol, and Stephen Politano of McDonald were honorable mentions.