Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Place An Ad | Warren Homecoming | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

10:42 p.m.: 33 apply for YSU president

April 14, 2014
Tribune Chronicle

YOUNGSTOWN Monday was the application deadline for canidates seeking to become the ninth president of Younstown State University.

A total of 33 people, including former YSU and Ohio State football coach Jim Tressel, have applied for the position, according to Tribune 'news partner WYTV. The list, which was obtained by television partner WKBN, will be reviewed by the YSU Board of Trustees and candidates and eight candidates will be interviewed later this month. From there, the list will be narrowed to three finalists, who will be interviewed in May. The list also included longtime area high school administrator John Grahovac of Poland and Heather Miller, a student who is going to receive her bachelor's degree in May

The university's board is looking to replace Randy Dunn, who resigned in February, after just seven months in his position. Dunn, whose last day was March 21, left to become president at Southern Illinois University.

Provost Ikram Khawaja is currently serving as interim president, and is retiring June 30.

Fact Box


Dr. Martin Abraham, dean of the YSU STEM College.

Tony Atwater, a professor of mass communications and journalism at Norfolk State University in Norfolk, Va.

Christopher Brown, a senior fellow in the division of academic leadership and change for the American Association of State Colleges and Universities in Washington, D.C.

Ronald Bucci, interim vice president for professional and support services for Akron Childrens Hospital.

Michael Cafaro

Charles Canver, vice president for medical affairs and chief medical officer at Presence United Samaritans Medical Center in Danville, Ill.

Mary Cullinan, president and professor of English at Southern Oregon University since 2006.

Charles Cullum, provost and vice president for academic affairs for Worcester State University in Worcester, Mass.

George Ebbs, dean of the College of Business at Bloomsburg University.

David Glassman, provost and vice president for academic affairs and professor of anthropology at Bradley University in Peoria, Ill.

John Grahovac of Poland, who retired after 35 years in high school administration, most recently serving as interim principal at Bristol High School.

Walter Anthony Johnson Jr., who retired in 2011 after serving as chairman of the department of computer information sciences at Shaw University for 10 years.

Michael Laliberte

Daniel Little, chancellor and professor of philosophy at University of Michigan-Dearborn since 2000.

Lesley Lovett-Doust

James McCollum, executive deputy to the president/chief of staff at Millersville University in Pennsylvania.

Heather Miller of Youngstown, who will graduate from YSU in May with a bachelors degree in social sciences and liberal arts. She is currently a language tutor and lab assistant at the YSU Learning Resource Center.

Gary Miller

Daryl Mincey

James Payne, provost and professor of business in the Department of Economics and Finance at the College of Business Administration at the University of New Orleans.

Chee Piong, who is currently CEO of CKP Bookkeeping, LLC in Tamarac, Fla.

Marshall Porterfield, director of space life and physical sciences division at NASA headquarters since 2012.

Christopher Reber, who has been the executive dean of Venango College of Clarion University in Oil City, Pa., since 2002.

Christina Richey, senior scientist and program officer for Smart Data Solutions LLC and NASA headquarters.

Aldemaro Romaro Jr., who is currently dean of the College of the Arts and Sciences at Southern Illinois University.

Steven Rothstein, president of the Perkins School for the Blind since 2003.

Frank Sargent, who is currently special liaison to the president of academic initiatives at Johnson & Wales University in Providence, R.I.

David Satterwhite, who was executive director of the Japan-U.S. Educational Commission for nine years until 2013.

John Schwaller

Allen Lee Sessoms, who served as president of the University System of the District of Columbia for five years. He is currently a fellow at George Washington University, Virginia Science and Technology Campus, and at the American Association of State Colleges and Universities.

Hamid Shirvani, who has been a chancellor and professor of architectural engineering at North Dakota University System. He has been on leave there since June, according to his application.

Jim Tressel, executive vice president for student success at the University of Akron.

Kody Varahramyan, vice chancellor for research and professor of electrical and computer engineering at Indiana University-Purdue University in Indianapolis, Ind.



I am looking for: