Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Place An Ad | Warren Homecoming | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Marquee Award winners

August 13, 2011 - Andy Gray
Here's the list of winners at the Marquee Awards for community theater, which were announced tonight in Canfield. Congratulations to the winners. I didn't see all of the winning shows, but some deserving work was recognized.

Best Musical ­ “Chicago” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Play ­ “The Pillowman” (Youngstown Playhouse) and “Someone Who’ll Watch Over Me” (Rust Belt)

Best Special Theatrical Event ­ “When I Knew and How It Saved Me” (Rust Belt Theater Company)

Best Lead Actor Musical ­ Khaled Tabbara in “Jesus Christ Superstar” (Salem Community Theatre)

Best Lead Actress Musical ­ Bernadette Lim in “Jesus Christ Superstar” (Salem Community Theatre)

Best Lead Actor Play ­ James McClellan in “I Am My Own Wife” (Oakland Center for the Arts)

Best Lead Actress Play ­ Lisandra Stebner in “Our Town” (Victorian Players)

Best Revival Musical ­ “Oklahoma” (Trumbull New Theatre)

Best Revival Play ­ “Our Town” (Victorian Players)

Best Director Play ­ Sam Luptak Jr. for “Our Town” (Victorian Players)

Best Director Musical ­ David Jendre for “Chicago” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Musical Director ­ Gary Kekel for “Always, Patsy Cline” (Salem Community Theatre)

Best Supporting Actor Play ­ John Pecano in “The Pillowman” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Supporting Actress Play ­ Terri Macskimming in “Reasons To Be Pretty” (Rust Belt Theater Company)

Best Supporting Actor Musical ­ Craig Conrad in “Oklahoma” (Trumbull New Theatre)

Best Supporting Actress Musical ­ Barb Timmins in “Oklahoma” (Trumbull New Theatre)

Best Sound Operator ­ Matt Stevens for “Chicago” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Sound Design ­ Matt Stevens for “Jesus Christ Superstar” (Salem Community Theatre)

Best Featured Actor Musical ­ Justin Edenhofer in “Jesus Christ Superstar” (Salem Community Theatre)

Best Featured Actress Musical ­ Rosie Jo Neddy in “Oliver” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Featured Actor Play ­ Terry Shears in “Our Town” (Victorian Players)

Best Featured Actress Play ­ Liz Conrad in “The Boys Next Door” (Top Hat Productions)

Best Swing Musical or Play ­ Neal Edman in “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat” (New Castle Playhouse)

Best Stage Manager ­ Dorene White for “Our Town” (Victorian Players)

Best Character Performance Musical ­ Robert Dennick Joki in “Jesus Christ Superstar” (Salem Community Theatre)

Best Character Performance Play ­ Denise Sculli in “In the Spirit of Christmas” (Victorian Players & Centaur Stage)

Best Actor Cameo Play ­ Jim Canacci in “Camille” (Victorian Players)

Best Actress Cameo Play ­ Molly Galano in “Antigone” (Rust Belt Theater Company)

Best Costume Design ­ Cherie Stebner for “Our Town” (Victorian Players)

Best Lightboard Operator ­ Moulton E. Ferguson, Jr. for “The Rose Tattoo” (New Castle Playhouse)

Best Lighting Design ­ Terri Gilbert, Megan Browning, Zack Gilayni for “Oklahoma” (Trumbull New Theatre)

Best Choreography ­ David Jendre for “Chicago” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Hugh Fagan Award ­ Dylan White and Lisandra Stebner

Best Male Ensemble Member ­ Dave Wolford in “Macbeth” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Female Ensemble Member ­ Melanie Williams in “Jesus Christ Superstar” (Salem Community Theatre)

Best Male Juvenile Play ­ Hunter Thomas in “Macbeth” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Female Juvenile Play ­ Miranda Canacci in “Our Town” (Victorian Players)

Best Male Juvenile Musical ­ Will Kinser in “The Sound of Music” (Carnation City Players)

Best Female Juvenile Musical ­ Snezana Jelic in “Oliver” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Scenic Design ­ Jim Lybarger for “Of Mice and Men” (Youngstown Playhouse)

Best Properties Design ­ Annette Crowe, Karen Ferguson for “The Rose Tattoo” (New Castle Playhouse)

Best Followspot Operator ­ Geri DeWitt, Candy DiLullo, Chris Fidram, Tom O’Donnell for “Chicago” (Youngstown Playhouse)


Article Comments

No comments posted for this article.

Post a Comment

You must first login before you can comment.

*Your email address:
Remember my email address.


I am looking for: