Two distress commission members resign

YOUNGSTOWN — Two members of the Youngstown City Schools Academic Distress Commission resigned their posts Friday. Brian Benyo and Jennifer Roller submitted their resignations to Paolo DeMaria, superintendent of public instruction with the Ohio Department of Education. Benyo wrote he needs to devote more time to his business and other personal obligations, and those demands have limited his ability to engage with the commission in a manner that is needed. Roller wrote in her resignation letter she would continue to be active in the district through her work as president of the Raymond John Wean Foundation. DeMaria is responsible for finding their replacements.