At a glance

Trumbull historical society gets funding

WARREN — The Trumbull County Historical Society was awarded $5,000 by the Ohio History Fund to build a temperature-controlled room to store historical items.

More than 550 items, including clothes, quilts and shoes, will be stored in the room, according to an announcement from Ohio Sen. Sean O’Brien, D-Bazetta.

The Ohio History Connection’s History Fund grant program is a competitive program that awarded a total of $76,000 in grants to nine projects across the state this year.

Mahoning Dems endorse Schiavoni

YOUNGSTOWN — The Mahoning County Democratic Party has endorsed Democratic Ohio Sen. Joe Schiavoni for Ohio governor in the May 8 primary.

The party also endorsed Sen. Sherrod Brown, Rep. Tim Ryan, D-Howland, Shawna Roberts for the 6th Congressional District, Ohio Rep. John Boccieri in the 33rd District, Ohio Rep. Michele Lepore Hagan in the 58th District, Eric Ungaro for the Ohio House District 59 and Carol Rimedia-Righetti for Mahoning County commissioner.

The party backed Dan Dascenzo and Anthony Donofrio for the Mahoning County Common Pleas Court race and David D’Apolito for the 7th District Court of Appeals race.

Ohio celebrates 215th birthday

COLUMBUS — The Ohio Statehouse is kicking off its commemoration of Ohio’s 215th birthday as a state.

Festivities to mark Statehood Day run today through the weekend. Ohio was founded on March 1, 1803. A small art exhibit opening today features original portraits of two key players in the debate over statehood: Arthur St. Clair and Thomas Worthington.

An Ohio History Connection film on the statehood debate will be featured through the weekend.

A free birthday party will take place noon to 3 p.m. Sunday.

Community Star event tickets on sale now

WARREN — Tickets are on sale for the 17th annual Community Star banquet sponsored by the Tribune Chronicle and Trumbull 100.

The banquet will be 5:30 p.m. March 20 at St. Demetrios Banquet Center in Warren. Tickets are $20 each and are available for purchase until 5 p.m. March 12. Tickets may be purchased at the Tribune Chronicle’s downtown offices, 240 Franklin St. SE, Warren, or via mail by sending the order form that runs in the newspaper.

This year’s recipients are Andrew Bednar, Sam Covelli, Debbie Hayes, Katylu Herriman, Joyce Jones, Bonnie Loomis, Sal and Mary Lou Mormando, Joyce Polenick and Jennifer Economos Sudzina, Teresa Webb and Jay Wonders. For more information, contact Sue Shafer at 330-841-1696.

Staff, wire reports