Bloomfield-Mespo, Bristol BOEs name new members

Both the Bloomfield-Mespo Board of Education and the Bristol Board of Education have appointed new members to fill openings on their school boards.

The Bloomfield-Mespo board on Wednesday named David Peterson of Bloomfield as its newest member, filling the seat held by Aaron Brazofsky, who chose not to run for re-election.

Superintendent John Sheets said Peterson will serve for two years through December 2019 and then if he wants to serve the remaining two years of the four-year seat, he would need to run in the November 2019 election.

Sheets said no one ran for the seat in the general election. The board also interviewed candidates Tim Covey and Lynn Parke.

The Bloomfield-Mespo board held its organizational meeting Thursday with its newest member and named Mike Foster board president, Mark Keiser as vice president and Justin Sly as legislative liaison to the Ohio School Board Association. The board set meetings for 6:30 p.m. the third Thursday at Bloomfield High School.

The Bristol Board of Education named Kristina Stephens of Farmington Friday to fill an unexpired term on the board caused by the resignation in December of John Hickey, who served six years. There are two years remaining on his four-year term.

Jared Biles of Bristol, Amy Smith of Bristol and Brooke Vondrasek of Bristol had submitted applications and were scheduled to be interviewed by the board.

Board President Don Mickel said Stephens is an active community member and involved with the schools.

He said ”it was a tough decision” because all the applicants were good.

Mickel said Stephens will serve two years and then if she wants to serve another term, she would need to run in the November 2019 election.

Southington schools last week added two new members to its board to fill openings and the Newton Falls board was scheduled to meet Friday morning at the central office to review applicants for an opening on the board.