Award winners honored

WARREN – The top student in Trumbull County selected for a prestigious award was not able to attend the ceremony. He was taking a test.

Lakeview student Robert McKay and several other students recognized Thursday for being scholarship recipients were continuing their hard work by taking their Advanced Placement English tests.

Select students from Trumbull County high schools were invited to the Trumbull County Educational Service Center’s 26th annual Scholarship and Recognition Breakfast at Leo’s Ristorante in Howland.

“We’re able as educators to honor and recognize students in Trumbull County for their outstanding achievement. These students have worked hard throughout their educational career, and they are rewarded for those hard efforts (today),” TCESC Superintendent Michael Hanshaw said.

TCESC sponsors the yearly breakfast.

Lakeview Schools Superintendent Robert Wilson accepted the award on behalf of McKay, who plans to study astrophysics at The Ohio State University.

McKay was selected for the $2,500 Franklin B. Walter All Scholastic Award.

The awards are granted due to the students’ academic record, final grade-point average and rank, ACT / SAT college entrance exam scores, community-based activities and the quality of a written essay describing the student’s interests in life.

Nineteen other students from school districts in Trumbull County received a $200 textbook award under the Franklin B. Walter All Scholastic Award.

Additionally, two students received a $1,500 Stanley L. and Grace A. Woofter Scholarship. Jac Boyle of Lakeview and Michael Davidson of McDonald were selected.

Boyle said he will attend YSU, where he will study history or library sciences. Davidson said he plans to attend Kent State University, but is undecided on his major. He said he is leaning toward business.

Twenty-three students received a $500 Paul A. Watson Scholarship from the First Place Bank Community Foundation. Three of those students, Saahirah Cua of Bristol, Allan Metz of Lordstown and Rebecca Shelton of Maplewood, also received the Franklin B. Walter textbook award.

“I invite you to take the time to reflect on the secrets of your future success. I wish you the best that life has to offer,” Hanshaw said.

He also told the students they can achieve anything they set their mind to.