Community Stars named

WARREN – The 2013 class of Tribune Chronicle’s Community Star program has been selected.

The following individuals were chosen from more than 50 local nominees for their significant influence on Trumbull County, be it through tireless hours of service, random acts of kindness or a single moment of courage:

Carolyn Andrews of Warren

Rhonda Bennett of Warren

Lisa Banks-Booze of Leavittsburg

Cathy Carney of Niles

Caryn Covelli of Warren

Roberta Cykon of Fowler

Doug Herlinger of Newton Falls

Flo Hutton of Cortland

Robert Sauer of Warren

Steve Zerefos of Warren

“It was a difficult job as always to choose 10,” said Sue Shafer, Tribune Chronicle community events coordinator. “There were so many worthy nominees.”

This year’s winners, selected by a committee at the newspaper, come from all walks of life and from several different communities. According to Shafer , they have done everything from rescue animals to plan bike trails.

The winners’ stories will be featured in a special section to be published in March. They also will be treated to a banquet open to the community at W.D. Packard Music Hall on March 19.

Community Stars began in 2002. This year, Trumbull 100 has again chosen to co-sponsor the award program, as they have the last several years. Trumbull 100 is an organization of local business owners and leaders who promote and facilitate leadership projects in the community.

Tickets for the banquet are available for $20 and can be purchased at the newspaper office, 240 Franklin St. S.E., Warren, OH 44483.

For more information, contact Shafer at or at 330-841-1696.