Sun. 5:51pm: Monument planned for fallen firefighters

WARREN – Seven Warren firefighters who died in the line of duty will be remembered May 4 with a memorial marker and dedication ceremony.

Fire Capt. Tom Walker and Lt. Paul Lamosek said they have been discussing placing a marker for firefighters at the Memorial Park section by the log cabin on Courthouse Square. The site currently houses memorials for police officers and veterans.

Warren Firefighters Local 204 Memorial marker will include the names of seven firefighters and the years they died. They are Leroy Bartholomew (1931), Lee O’Brien (1936), Ora Smith (1943), Eugene Spahr (1955), Henry Mann (1966), Roy Kajala (1969) and John Mock (1974).

“They all made the ultimate sacrifice while in the line of duty since the Warren Fire Department began,” Lamosek said, noting that they do not have the records from the late 1800s, when the department formed.

Read the complete story in Monday’s Tribune Chronicle and at