Scouts and 4-H

SILVER BEAVER AWARD: Four men from Trumbull and Mahoning counties earned the highest award a Boy Scout council can present to adult volunteers, the Silver Beaver Award — John Barkett, David Chauvin, Robert Guesman and Kurt Hilderbrand.

• Guesman started as a committee member in 1989 with Troop 25 in Champion and soon became Troop 25’s committee chairman. In 1992, he transferred to Troop 8 in Warren, where he was a committee member. In 1994, he became a district committee member and served on the training committee for 10 years, five as chairman. From 2006 to 2009, he served as Scoutmaster of Troop 8.

Guesman is a Vigil Honor member of the Order of the Arrow. He has led more than 50 young men on 50-mile canoe trips in northern Ontario and has earned six 50-Mile Awards himself. Upon his retirement from General Motors Corp. in Lordstown, he became a unit commissioner and recently became an assistant district commissioner.

• Barkett is on the Board of the Great Trail Council with a support position in the Pathfinder District (Scoutreach) in both Mahoning and Trumbull Counties. He was previously the vice president of community service with the Greater Western Reserve Council in a similar support role with Scoutreach. He is a member of the Boardman Civic Association and contributor to the Boardman Scholarship Fund.

• Chauvin is a retired chief warrant officer with the Marine Corps Reserve. He served as unit coordinator for the Toys for Tots campaign from 1981 to 1992. He worked with the U.S. Naval Sea Cadet Program from 1982 to 1984. He has worked as the scouting coordinator with the Junior Fair Board at the Canfield Fair since 2007.

Chauvin is scoutmaster of Troop 54 in the Brownlee Woods neighborhood of Youngstown. He is a unit commissioner, serves on the District Committee, coordinator for the Canfield Fair Scout Encampment, and was on the 2016 National Youth Leadership Training staff. He has served 16 years as a campmaster for Camp Stambaugh.

He earned his Wood Badge Beads in 2001, the Order of the Arrow Cheerful Service Award in 2004 and received the OA Vigil Honor in 2008. He has also earned the Scouter’s Key, Scoutmaster’s Key, Commissioner’s Key and District Committee Key training awards. He has been a new unit organizer and has been awarded the District Award of Merit.

• Hilderbrand has been a scouter since 1985 and serves as the scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 80 in North Lima, Order of the Arrow Neatoka Chapter Adviser for Marnoc Lodge and is camping chairman on the Whispering Pines District Committee.

He has earned his Wood Badge Beads, Scoutmaster’s Key and District Committee Key training awards and has been presented the Adult Religious Award and District Award of Merit.

He earned his Eagle Scout Award in 1979 in Boy Scout Troop 2 of Poland and is a Lifetime Member of the National Eagle Scout Association. He was presented the Vigil Honor in Wapashuwi Lodge, Order of the Arrow in 2015.

Hilderbrand served as Whispering Pines District chairman from 2012 to 2015. He was a Wood Badge course guide, Philmont Contingent leader and served on staff at the 2013 National Boy Scout Jamboree and will once again this July at the 2017 National Boy scout Jamboree.

He has served as Assistant Scoutmaster of Boy scout Troop 2 and 44 in Poland and Boy Scout Troop 80 in North Lima. He was also Cubmaster of Cub Scout Pack 116 from 2001-2005.

The four were among those honored at the Great Trail Council Annual Meeting and Recognition Dinner held at St. Thomas Eastern Orthodox Church in Fairlawn.

The Great Trail Council also recognized Scout Executive Mike Jones for 22 years of service to the Great Trail Council. Jones will retire July 1. He has been a professional scouter for 37 years.

The Great Trail Council, one of more than 300 local BSA councils across America, is headquartered in Akron and serves families in Summit, Medina, Portage, Trumbull, Mahoning and northern Wayne Counties with more than 13,000 youth members in 421 units. For more information about the Great Trail Council, go to