On campus

WOODWARD ACCEPTED: Shelby Lynn Woodward, daughter of Scott and Sharon Woodward of Cortland, was accepted April 20 into the Rho Chi Pharmacy Honor Society representing The Ohio State University.

Membership in Rho Chi is the highest honor the profession of pharmacy can bestow on select individuals based on their academic excellence.

Woodward graduated magna cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts degree in chemistry from Youngstown State University in May 2015. She is a member of The Ohio State College of Pharmacy class of 2019.

BAUER INDUCTED: Alexandra Bauer of Leavittsburg is among 32 high-achieving students in Heidelberg University’s Class of 2017 to be inducted into the Honor Society, the university’s only all-scholastic honor society.

Bauer, a senior majoring in chemistry and biology, was inducted during Heidelberg’s annual Academic Excellence Recognition Dinner on April 29.

To qualify for the Honor Society, the students must rank in the top 15 percent of the graduating class.

YSU STUDENTS GET INTERNSHIPS: Local Youngstown State University students were awarded paid internships under the 2017 Nonprofit Leadership Summer Honors Internship Program, thanks to a $65,000 grant that the Raymond John Wean Foundation awarded to the Center for Nonprofit Leadership at YSU’s Williamson College of Business Administration.

The program offers full-time, 12-week paid internships designed to provide 10 qualified YSU students with career-related work experience in a nonprofit or public sector organization.

Internships were awarded to Amanda Irwin of Hubbard; Georgia Kasamias of Youngstown; Stephanie Marsico of Girard; Mollie Crowe of Youngstown; Justin Vinkler of Youngstown; and Danny Marker of Niles.

LOCAL STUDENTS INDUCTED: Thirty-six Counseling students at Youngstown State University were inducted recently into the Eta Chapter of Chi Sigma Iota International, an honor society dedicated to promoting excellence in the counseling profession.

Local YSU students named to the international organization are Kristen Kukura of Youngstown, James MacGregor of Mineral Ridge, Emma Kovacs of Hubbard, Robinette Dotson of Youngstown, Kelsey Pringle of Youngstown, Sandra Quotson of Austintown, Danielle Pazillo of Girard, Jendi Schmelzlen of Warren, Stephanie Sedall of Youngstown, Christine Andujar of Youngstown, Amanda Hull of McDonald, Phyllis Valla of Hubbard and Pamela Waddell of Vienna.

CLARK INDUCTED: Kevin J. Clark Sr., son of Deborah Clark of Brookfield, was inducted Feb. 3 into the Alpha Omicron Nu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Eastern Gateway Community College.

Clark, majoring in health professions and related clinical sciences, is married to Mary E. Clark.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today