Insurers restore health coverage

Tribune Chronicle

COLUMBUS — Health insurance options have been restored on the federal exchange in 19 Ohio counties.

Buckeye Health Plan, CareSource, Medical Mutual of Ohio, Molina Health Care of Ohio and Paramount Health Care are helping to ensure that coverage is available in those counties on the exchange in 2018, Ohio Department of Insurance Director Jillian Froment.

Froment joined five major Ohio health care insurers on Monday to announce the restoration.

Earlier this year, other insurers announced they were withdrawing from the exchange in a move that would have left Ohioans in 20 counties without access to health insurance.

“Knowing 20 counties might not have access to health insurance on the exchange in 2018, our team went to work with the companies to find a way through the challenge, and together we have identified a solution,” Froment said.

About 11,000 Ohioans purchase coverage through the health care exchange in the 19 impacted counties of Coshocton, Crawford, Guernsey, Hancock, Harrison, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Logan, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Van Wert, Vinton, Williams and Wyandot. So far, no insurer is planning to sell an exchange product next year in Paulding County. However, state leaders are working to restore coverage there.

Consumers with questions may contact the Ohio Department of Insurance at 1-800-686-1526.